Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Wolferton Rated Stakes 2022 Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 DUBAI FUTURE Danny Tudhope Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 20/1
2 CADILLAC S Foley Kevin Phillippart De Foy Sheikh Abdulla Almalek 11/2 fav
3 HARROVIAN Frankie Dettori John & Thady Gosden Sheikh Z Bin Mohammed 14/1
4 REGAL REALITY Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Mr Peter Done 17/2
5 WEST END CHARMER Joe Fanning Charlie & Mark Johnston Mr Martin McHale 10/1
6 FOXES TALES David Probert Andrew Balding King Power Racing 6/1
7 JUAN ELCANO Andrea Atzeni Kevin Ryan Sheikh Mohammed Obaid 7/1
8 CERTAIN LAD Hollie Doyle Mick Channon Mr C R Hirst 18/1
9 ARISTIA Sean Levey Richard Hannon Mrs E Roberts 14/1
10 NEW MANDATE Rob Hornby Ralph Beckett Mr Marc Chan 14/1
11 MOVIN TIME Jack Mitchell Roger Varian Sheikh Mohammed Obaid 22/1
12 TASMAN BAY James McDonald Sir Mark Todd Sir Peter Vela 11/1
13 PEROTTO Dougie Costello Marcus Tregoning Halcyon Thoroughbreds 25/1
14 PALAVECINO Jamie Spencer Brian Meehan Araam 100/1
PU STAR SAFARI William Buick Charlie Appleby Godolphin 9/1
This race took place on Tuesday 14th June 2022, the winner, a bay gelding by Dubawi out of Anjaz, won a first prize of £65,120 Over round 120%
Wolferton Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs 2002
    2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
2020 2021 2022