Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Wolferton Rated Stakes 2018 Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 MONARCHS GLEN Frankie Dettori John Gosden Khaled Abdulla 8/1
2 EUGINIO Silvestre De Sousa Richard Hannon Al Homaizi & Al Sagar 33/1
3 MUNTAHAA Dane O'Neill John Gosden Hamdan Al Maktoum 33/1
4 CAPTAIN COOK Adam Kirby Sir Michael Stoute Cheveley Park Stud 28/1
5 MIRAGE DANCER James McDonald Sir Michael Stoute Khaled Abdulla 7/2 fav
6 LESHLAA Christophe Soumillon Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 20/1
7 SPARK PLUG Jamie Spencer Brian Meehan J L Day 25/1
8 SHARJA BRIDGE Andrea Atzeni Roger Varian Shiekh Mohammed Obaid 5/1
9 LARAAIB Jim Crowley Owen Burrows Hamdan Al Maktoum 6/1
10 CHAIN OF DAISIES Harry Bentley Henry Candy Girsonfield Ltd 20/1
11 MORANDO Oisin Murphy Andrew Balding King Power Racing 12/1
12 BIG COUNTRY Luke Norris Michael Appleby The Horse Watchers 16/1
13 FABRICATE James Doyle Michael Bell HM The Queen 14/1
14 KIDMENEVER William Buick Charlie Appleby Godolphin 14/1
15 SCARLET DRAGON Tom Marquand Alan King HP Racing Scarlet Dragon 50/1
16 YUCATAN Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien Flaxman Stables, Magnier et al 10/1
This race took place on Tuesday 19th June 2018, the winner, a bay horse by Frankel out of Mirabilis, won a first prize of £56,710 (equivalent to £59,000 in 2020). Over round 125%
Wolferton Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs 2002
    2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018