Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Wolferton Rated Stakes 2013 Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 FORGOTTEN VOICE Johnny Murtagh Nicky Henderson Mrs Susan Roy 12/1
2 SHEIKHZAYEDROAD Martin Lane David Simcock Mohammed Jaber 8/1
3 BANA WU Richard Hughes Andrew Balding Mr G B Russell 16/1
4 OTTOMAN EMPIRE Harry Bentley John Butler Ahmad Al Shaikh 33/1
5 ALBASHARAH Silvestre De Sousa Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 3/1 fav
6 TWO FOR TWO Danny Tudhope David O'Meara High Hopes Partnership 10/1
7 CHAPTER SEVEN Jamie Spencer Stuart Williams Qatar Racing Ltd 14/1
8 OCEAN WAR Mickael Barzalona Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 16/1
9 FATTSOTA Martin Harley Marco Botti Scuderia Rencati 9/1
10 REWARDED Kirsty Milczarek James Toller R Schuster & P Dalby 25/1
11 MOBACO James McDonald Luca Cumani O T I Racing 16/1
12 LABARINTO Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Khaled Abdulla 7/1
13 INIS MEAIN Danny Mullins Denis Gerard-Hogan Barry Connell 25/1
14 DICK DOUGHTYWYLIE William Buick John Gosden Ms Rachel Hood 8/1
15 GENZY Jim Crowley Ian Williams Michael Watt & Chris Wright 20/1
This race took place on Friday 21st June 2013, the winner, a bay horse by Danehill Dancer out of Asnieres, won a first prize of £34,026 (equivalent to £40,000 in 2020). Over round 127%
Wolferton Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs 2002
    2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
2010 2011 2012 2013