Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Wolferton Rated Stakes 2009 Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 PERFECT STRIDE Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 8/1
2 MOONQUAKE Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 11/2
3 SALUTE HIM Richard Hughes A J Martin Byrne Bros 10/1
4 RE BAROLO Christophe Lemaire Marco Botti Effevi Di Villa Felice 14/1
5 MORES WELLS Gerald Mosse Richard Gibson Mrs Catherine O'Flynn 12/1
6 INDIAN DAYS Alan Munro James Given D J Fish 10/1
7 PERKS Jimmy Quinn John Dunlop Benny Andersson 25/1
8 DREAM LODGE Paul Hanagan Richard Fahey The G-Guck Group 8/1
9 HALICARNASSUS Sam Hitchcott Mick Channon Doric Racing 9/1
10 BARON DE'L Seamie Heffernan Edward Harty Dobbins Sndicate 28/1
11 ALARAZI Tom Queally T G Mills Johnny Eddis 40/1
12 KHATEEB Richard Hills Michael Jarvis Hamdan Al Maktoum 16/1
13 PINPOINT Adam Kirby Walter Swinburn Full Circle Racing 16/1
14 KANDIDATE Seb Sanders Clive Brittain A J Richards 33/1
15 STONE OF SCONE Jimmy Fortune Ed Dunlop Cliveden Stud 7/2 fav
This race took place on Friday 19th June 2009, the winner, a bay horse by Oasis Dream out of First, won a first prize of £28,385 (equivalent to £39,000 in 2020). Over round 127%
Wolferton Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs 2002
    2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009