Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Wolferton Rated Stakes 2008 Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 SUPASEUS Steve Drowne Hughie Morrison Ben & Sir Martyn Arbib 12/1
2 MANY VOLUMES Ted Durcan Sir Henry Cecil Khaled Abdulla 17/2
3 PINPOINT Adam Kirby Walter Swinburn Full Circle Racing Club 16/1
4 BUCCELLATI William Buick Andrew Balding P C & Mrs J A McMahon et al 13/2
5 HALICARNASSUS Darryll Holland Mick Channon Doric Racing 8/1
6 MONTO ALTO Johnny Murtagh Luca Cumani Timothy Steel 3/1 fav
7 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE Richard Kingscote William Knight Mr & Mrs I Bendelow 16/1
8 WATAMU Seb Sanders Peter Makin R A Henley 14/1
9 EMIRATES SKYLINE Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 4/1
10 UNDER THE RAINBOW Neil Callan Barry Hills Bill Gredley 14/1
This race took place on Friday 20th June 2008, the winner, a bay horse by Spinning World out of Supanova, won a first prize of £34,062 (equivalent to £46,000 in 2020). Over round 113%
Wolferton Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs 2002
    2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008