Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Wolferton Rated Stakes 2007 Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 CHAMPIONSHIP POINT Darryll Holland Mick Channon John Livock Bloodstock 25/1
2 HEAVEN SENT Kerrin McEvoy Sir Michael Stoute Cheveley Park Stud 4/1
3 CHARLIE COOL Neil Callan William Haggas Bill Gredley 11/1
4 PURPLE MOON Jamie Spencer Luca Cumani Craig Bennett 10/1
5 EMIRATES SKYLINE Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 3/1 fav
6 STAR OF LIGHT Ricahrd Hughes Brian Meehan J H Widdows 16/1
7 WORDLY WISE Kevin Darley Patrick Flynn David O'Reilly 16/1
8 LAKE POET Seb Sanders Clive Brittain Mohammed Rashid 13/2
9 PRINCE OF LIGHT Joe Fanning Mark Johnston Claire Riordan/K Coughlan 25/1
10 ROAD TO LOVE Ryan Moore Mark Johnston Grant Mercer 7/1
11 TUCKER Hayley Turner Walter Swinburn Mrs A M Richards 9/1
12 TABADUL Richard Hills Ed Dunlop Hamdan Al Maktoum 14/1
This race took place on Friday 22nd June 2007, the winner, a bay horse by Lomitas out of Flying Squaw, won a first prize of £31,229 (equivalent to £44,000 in 2020). Over round 125%
Wolferton Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs 2002
    2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007