Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1944 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 SUN STREAM Harry Wragg W Earl Lord Derby 100/30
2 SWEET CYGNET E C Elliott T Rimell Mr H H Leven 8/1
3 FILLO DU REGIMENT G Richards F Darling Mr A N Other 11/10 fav
4 COSMOHONE filly P Maher F Leach Mr A N Other 25/1
5 FULL SPEED C Richards Frank Butters Mr A N Other 10/1
6 NEBERNA G Bridgland R W Colling Mr A N Other 50/1
7 SOLAR PATH W Nevett G Colling Mrs Arthur James 100/8
8 BLUE SMOKE E Smith J Jarvis Lord Rosebery 7/2
9 FLUSH T Carey F S Butters Mr A N Other 100/7
10 VESTAL VIRGIN M Beary Lambton Mr A N Other 100/6
This race took place on Friday 16th June 1944 at Newmarket Racecourse due to Ascot being used for the Second World War effort and was won by a chestnut filly by Hyperion out of Drift to win a first prize of £750 (equivalent to £34,000 in 2020). Over round 141%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943 1944