Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1943 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 FAIR FAME F Lane J C Waugh Mrs Lavington 15/2
2 CHARWOMAN filly T Carey Walter Nightingall Miss D Paget 20/1
3 PICTURE PLAY C Elliott Watts Mr H J Joel 11/8 fav
4 MISSY SUNTAN Arthur Wragg R Hobbs Mr A N Other 33/1
5 QUEEN NITOCRIS Harry Wragg Walter Earl Lord Derby 4/1
6 BULOLO filly R A Jones Henri Jelliss Mr A N Other 33/1
7 ADUR T Lowrey Basil Jarvis Mr A N Other 33/1
8 UVA Gordon Richards Frank Butters Mr A N Other 100/8
9 MONSOON Cliff Richards Alf Sadler Mr W F Phillips 100/6
10 FICKLE JEAN J Sirett Gaskell Mr A N Other 33/1
11 BLUE CAP Eph Smith Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery 11/2
12 PUFF ADDER Doug Smith H Peacock Mr A N Other 33/1
This race took place on Friday 18th June 1943 at Newmarket Racecourse due to Ascot being used for the Second World War effort and was won by a bay filly by Fairway out of Empire Glory to win a first prize of £750 (equivalent to £36,000 in 2020). Over round 123%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943