Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1942 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 SAMOVAR Michael Beary Atty Persse Lord Wyfold 100/6
2 SHINING LIGHT Charlie Elliott Watts Mr A N Other 11/4
3 CINCTURE Eph Smith Frank Butters Lord Durham 10/1
4 NEARLY Harry Wragg R W Colling Mr A N Other 10/11 fav
5 MAHEE Cliff Richards Frank Butters Mr A N Other 100/9
6 MOLLY MAUREEN R Evans R J Colling Mr A A Wright 100/8
7 DULCE filly G Bridgland Boyd-Rochfort Mr A N Other 20/1
8 OPEN WARFARE T Lowrey W Jarvis Mr A N Other 50/1
9 TIDWORTH Gordon Richards Lawson Lord Astor 100/8
10 FERIEL S Ellis Earl Mr A N Other 50/1
This race took place on Wednesday 1st July 1942 at Newmarket Racecourse due to Ascot being used for the Second World War effort and was won by a chestnut filly by Caerleon out of Carolina to win a first prize of £750 (equivalent to £36,000 in 2020). Over round 127%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942