Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1939 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 SNOWBERRY G Richards F Darling Lord Lonsdale 4/1
2 GOLDEN WAY W Sibbritt McVittie Lady Sheffield 100/6
3 TUMULT filly H Wragg O Bell Sir H Cunliffe-Owen 100/8
4 GREAT TRUTH J Crouch W Jarvis HM The King 3/1 fav
5 SONG OF BATTLE R A Jones Lawson Lord Astor 33/1
6 QUIXOTIC J Brennan Lawson Lord Astor 33/1
7 PRIZE POEM filly C Richards Walters Mrs F Barlow 33/1
8 MOON PRIESTESS R Perryman Earl Lord Derby 33/1
9 JACARANDA T Weston R Dawson Colonel Follett 13/2
10 DUSKY SUE filly T Lowrey Ryan Jarvis Lord Glanely 20/1
11 CAPSTAN F Sharpe N Scobie Sir C Hyde 33/1
12 MOONTRAEN James Doyle P Thrale Mr D S Kennedy 33/1
13 QUEEN OF BAGHDAD C Smirke Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 100/6
14 CORALINA J Kirby Nugent Mrs E King 33/1
15 BELLEHEIM D Smith Frank Butters Mr T Lant 20/1
16 PRECIOUS POLLY J Marshall Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 6/1
17 CORNECHOICH J Taylor May Mrs Florence Nagle 33/1
18 MUSICAL QUEEN D Butchers Pease Mr E Pease 33/1
19 MARETANZA M Beary Stedall Lord Pender 33/1
20 FREEWAY E C Elliott Stedall Mrs G Phillipson 33/1
21 FAIR DAME W Rickaby F S Butters Lord Portal 331
22 FASCINATION II P Evans R J Colling Lt-Col P Robinson 33/1
23 JOKE G Bezant F Pratt Mr J De Rothschild 20/1
24 KING'S BELLE W Nevett Persse Lord Sefton 33/1
25 LADY MADCAP filly H Blackshaw D Waugh Captain Starkey 8/1
26 ANNEVILLE A Richardson F Darling Mr R B Strassburger 33/1
27 ARROW GLEN E Benneyworth P Allden Mr Sweeney 33/1
28 BREATHLESS P Beasley Boyd-Rochfort Mr J E Widener 33/1
This race took place on Tuesday 13th June 1939 and was won by a brown filly by Cameronian out of Myrobella to win a first prize of £3520 (equivalent to £235,000 in 2020). Over round 170%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939