Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1938 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 BELLE TRAVERS D Smith Frank Butters Mr T Lant 3/1
2 YAKIMOUR H Wragg Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 10/1
3 STREAK AWAY T Weston Lawson Sir Abe Bailey 8/1
4 FALCONRY P Beasley R J Colling Mrs C Glorney 33/1
5 SUGAR KANDY W Johnstone F S Butters Mrs G Miller 33/1
6 EASY GOING R Perryman C Leader Lord Digby 2/1 fav
7 BALLATHIE E C Elliott N Scobie Sir C Hyde 33/1
8 FINESSE W Nevett Frank Butters Sir Alfred Butt 33/1
9 JUDY J Crouch W Jarvis HM The King 33/1
10 LIGHT VELOCITY R A Jones Lawson Lord Astor 33/1
11 MINEOLA C Richards F S Butters Miss P Bainbridge 50/1
12 LYDIA G Richards F Darling Mr P Beatty 100/6
13 ESPIRIT P Gomez Persse Captain Brassey 20/1
14 CAUSEWAY T Lowrey H Jelliss Mrs D Carlisle 50/1
15 FLYOLLEY S Wragg O Bell Sir H Cunliffe-Owen 33/1
16 ROSE OF KANDY M Beary Hogg Lord Glanely 33/1
17 VALANDRA F Lane R Day Mr J Hirst 50/1
18 JOYCE JEANNE E Smith J Jarvis Sir Jack Jarvis 33/1
19 PERSIAN FOLLY C Smirke Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 33/1
20 FORTUNATE LADY filly B Carslake Earl Sir H Lyons 10/1
21 MAGIC MOMENT J Marshall Gilpin Duke of Norfolk 331
22 HELOISE filly D Butchers Duller HH Maharajah of Rajpipla 33/1
23 GOOSE FEATHER K Robertson P Beary Lord Portman 33/1
24 BULLE DE SAVON C Boullion France Baron E De Rothschild 9/1
25 BURNS NIGHT J Taylor Lawson Sir V Sassoon 100/7
26 NORDRESSA J Smith F Darling Mr R B Strassburger 100/7
27 LAVANDE II P Evans F Hartigan Mr M Wertheimer 50/1
28 ARTIST'S BRUSH J Sirett F S Butters Captain A S Wills 50/1
29 ROSEAKIN N Carroll R Metcalfe Captain Tufnell 50/1
This race took place on Tuesday 14th June 1938 and was won by a bay filly by Mr Jinks out of Futurity to win a first prize of £3710 (equivalent to £255,000 in 2020). Over round 173%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938