Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1937 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 QUEEN OF SIMLA C Smirke Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 20/1
2 KELPIE W Nevett M Peacock Lord Ellesmere 10/1
3 SODA P Beasley Boyd-Rochfort Mr J E Widener 20/1
4 PROSECUTOR B Carslake Beatty Mr P Beatty 4/1 fav
5 MADRINA G Richards F Darling Mrs MacDonald-Buchanan 50/1
6 SERELIA S Donoghue Beatty Major Beatty 15/2
7 CHRYSILLA T Lowrey H Leader Major J B Walker 33/1
8 TAMASHA H Wragg O Bell Lady Cunliffe-Owen 13/2
9 LAUGHING WATER S Wragg Briscoe Mr D Crossman 10/1
10 WELL TAKEN M Beary Whitaker Mr Blundell 50/1
11 FLIGHTY JINKS J Brennan Lawson Sir Abe Bailey 33/1
12 ROGATION DAY P Gomes Persse Captain Brassey 50/1
13 SWEET CORN E Smith J Jarvis Sir G Bullough 13/2
14 SIOPE filly W Rickaby Digby Mr F Dennis 50/1
15 HAZEL E C Elliott Dines Mrs J Dines 100/8
16 POMPOM W Sibbritt N Scobie Sir C Hyde 33/1
17 PALM LILY F Lane C Peck Mr Jim Joel 33/1
18 TITLED LADY K Gethin C Peck Mr Jim Joel 50/1
19 STELLA CARMONA F Hunter M Marsh Mr C Leigh 50/1
20 TILLY HILL C Richards Candy Duchess of Newcastle 33/1
21 PORTWORTH A Burns Persse Mr S Parr 50/1
22 KILLALA BAY filly R Perryman W Nightingall Miss Dorothy Paget 50/1
23 SAINTLY R A Jones J Jarvis Sir L Philipps 100/8
24 GANGSTRESS J Simpson R J Colling Mrs C Rich 50/1
25 GALAXY G Bezant F Pratt Mr J A De Rothschild 20/1
26 SKIATHOS J Sirett Persse Lord Sefton 20/1
27 DARTSIDE D Smith G Armstrong Mrs J Shand 50/1
28 THE NURSE filly J Marshall Blair Mrs M Stephens 50/1
29 MISTRESS PAGE F Herbert R Jones Sir W Waldron 33/1
30 TIT WILLOW II T Weston Cottrill Mrs S Whitburn 50/1
31 GOLDEN ARABY filly A Richardson Templeman Sir F Eley 33/1
This race took place on Tuesday 15th June 1937 and was won by a bay filly by Blenheim out of Queen of Scots to win a first prize of £1580 (equivalent to £110,000 in 2020). Over round 164%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937