Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1935 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 FAIR RANEE S Donoghue R Dawson Vicomte De Fontarce 100/8
2 LOVELY ROSA T Weston Cottrill Sir Abe Bailey 100/8
3 TRAFFIC LIGHT R Dick Lawson Lord Astor 100/8
4 TIDE-WAY R Perryman C Leader Lord Derby 7/1
5 BUZZ FUZZ G Richards F Darling Mr F Darling 8/1
6 CROSSPATCH T Lowrey B Jarvis Major J Courtauld 11/2
7 OSWAY B Carslake Briscoe Miss D Paget 15/8 fav
8 FELSETTA R A Jones Lawson Mr Hollingsworth 20/1
9 FLOWER SHOW G Nicoll Templeman Sir F Eley 100/7
10 WATCH FIRE D McGuigan Elsey Lord Allendale 33/1
11 TETRILL filly C Rawles R Day Mr R Cohen 33/1
12 VERVELIE filly H Wragg O Bell Sir H Cunliffe-Owen 33/1
13 CORAL PEARL E Smith Jack Jarvis Miss Esmond 33/1
14 MISS PICK H Jelliss W Earl Colonel Fairfax 33/1
15 DOUBLURE J Sirett F Hartigan Captain Fitzgerald 33/1
16 STRAPETO H Beasley Lambton Major D McCalmont 100/8
17 PLINTH F Herbert Stedall Captain Cobbold 33/1
18 GOLDEN VERSE filly H Graves T Cannon Mr Whigham 33/1
19 WINACRE F Fox F S Butters Captain A S Wills 33/1
20 SURF GIRL K Gethin P Allden Mr Verrell 33/1
This race took place on Tuesday 18th June 1935 and was won by a bay filly by Pharos out of Jan Ranee to win a first prize of £3180 (equivalent to £231,000 in 2020). Over round 146%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935