Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1933 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 MAUREEN G Richards F Darling Lord Woolavington 5/2 fav
2 MYSTERY SHIP C Richards M Hartigan Mr R F Watson 25/1
3 OVERMANTLE P Beasley Vic Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 4/1
4 EVERLASTING H Wragg Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery 100/8
5 INSTANTANEOUS R Dick Lawson Lord Astor 100/7
6 COURT OF APPEAL H Beasley Atty Persse Major D McCalmont 7/1
7 SISTERHOOD filly C Ray C Peck Mr J B Joel 33/1
8 FLYING COOT R Perryman Frank Butters Sir A Butt 10/1
9 FINES HERBES T Weston Lambton Lord Derby 33/1
10 MAYRIAN filly G Nicoll R Day Sir Abe Bailey 33/1
11 MAHATMA E C Elliott France M M Boussac 100/8
12 FILASTIE S Wragg O Bell Sir H Cunliffe-Owen 33/1
13 KILMURRY W Nevett Walters Sir R Garton 10/1
14 TIDDLES F Herbert Hogg Lord Glanely 10/1
15 FRENCH KISS filly W Wells Beedle Captain J G Homfray 50/1
16 LAUGHTER filly B Carslake C Peck Mr J B Joel 50/1
17 BLACK GEM filly A Wragg Rickards Mr P Johnson 50/1
18 FALOUDEH M Beary Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 25/1
19 POKER G Bezant F Pratt Mr A De Rothschild 50/1
20 BLANDETTE J Childs F Leader Mr H J Simms 100/7
21 LEIGHON TOR filly R A Jones Lawson Mr Washington Singer 100/7
22 SANCHANCE H Jelliss H Leader Major J B Walker 50/1
23 SANDMAIDEN F Rickaby F S Butters Captain A S Wills 50/1
24 HASTY THOUGHT F Fox Whitaker Lord Abergavenny 33/1
This race took place on Tuesday 13th June 1933 and was won by a bay filly by Son-in-law out of St Prisca to win a first prize of £3120 (equivalent to £228,000 in 2020). Over round 159%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933