Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1931 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 DIAMALT H Wragg Holland Mrs V D Sainsbury 100/9
2 ORTA R Jones Lawson Mr S Tattersall 5/1
3 NEBULAR H Beasley Atty Persse Major D McCalmont 8/1
4 WINALONE W Nevett Pope Mr D Crossman 100/8
5 GRAND STYLE G Richards Hogg Lord Glanely 33/1
6 EUPHEMIA P Donoghue Cottrill Mrs S Whitburn 100/8
7 DREAM WATER P Beasley Mairs Mrs M Gemmell 50/1
8 CONCORDIA F Lane Lawson Mr A R Cox 10/1
9 GLYCERINE J Dines R Day Sir Abe Bailey 33/1
10 CENTENO E Gardner Ireland Mr W Barnett 50/1
11 PIAZZA filly J Childs Boyd-Rochfort Lord Blandford 33/1
12 SCUTTER filly T Weston Briscoe Mr A Briscoe 50/1
13 KELLACH R Dick Lawson Mr W M Cazalet 50/1
14 CASSIOPEIA S Wragg O Bell Sir H Cunliffe-Owen 33/1
15 MISS PRIM R Perryman C Leader Mr J Farr 20/1
16 BRILLIANCY FILLY B Carslake C Peck Sir Abe Bailey 33/1
17 TARTE MAISON M Beary R Dawson HH Aga Khan 7/1
18 PYRENE C Ray Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 10/1
19 CONNEMARA ROSE C Elliott Alf Sadler Maharajah of Nawangar 33/1
20 MICHETTE J Sirett Molony Mr V Rosenthal 20/1
21 A LACQUER LASS F Herbert Higgs Sir B Sheffield 33/1
22 JEANNIE MARIE A Wragg Sneyd Mrs F Sneyd 50/1
23 NORTON ROSE F Field F Hartigan Mr V Thompson 50/1
24 WITCH KOP S Donoghue J Beary Mrs E Wallace 50/1
25 SAFE RETURN F Fox F Darling Lord Woolavington 4/1 fav
26 ROMNEYA C Richards O Bell Lord Londonderry 50/1
27 WATER-WAY H Jelliss Jack Jarvis Mr Jack Jarvis 50/1
This race took place on Tuesday 16th June 1931 and was won by a bay filly by Diomedes out of Zarate to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020). Over round 157%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931