Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1930 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 ATBARA P Beasley victor Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 20/1
2 LADY MADERTY C Elliott Digby Mrs G H Drummond 7/1
3 LINDOS OJOS H Beasley Atty Persse Lady McCalmont 7/2 fav
4 CAROLA J Dines Sneyd Mrs C Glorney 10/1
5 RUNAWAY MATCH F Fox F Darling Lord Woolavington 8/1
6 PISA T Weston Frank Butters Lord Derby 20/1
7 SHELL PARADE C Ray De Mestre Major L B Holliday 100/8
8 CARTOUCHE W Sibbritt N Scobie Sir C Hyde 100/7
9 THE NILE S Donoghue C Waugh Sir Victor Sassoon 100/6
10 VOLUME R Dick Lawson Lord Astor 10/1
11 SUN GLORY B Carslake C Peck Mr J B Joel 50/1
12 PESCARINA R Perryman Watson Lord Crewe 50/1
13 EVENING GLORY G Richards Hogg Lord Glanely 50/1
14 SALT OF THE EARTH J Childs W Jarvis Lord Harewood 50/1
15 GAY SISTER D Morris R W Colling Mr J Hirst 50/1
16 FINALE F Winter W Earl Mr Solly Joel 50/1
17 BULAND BIBI M Beary R Dawson HH Aga Khan 100/8
18 JUVERNA filly R Jones Alf Sadler HH Maharajah of Nawangar 8/1
19 MAJORITY CALLING F Lane W Nightingall Sir P Newson 50/1
20 ACQUIT H Jelliss Jack Jarvis Sir L Philipps 50/1
21 POLYNESIA R James R J Colling Mrs C Rich 50/1
22 EDGELAW H Wragg Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery 20/1
23 RIVIERE M Wing D Waugh Mr H S Tufton 10/1
24 SANDS END A Burns H Waldron Miss G Waldron 50/1
25 STRATUM filly J Leach J Cannon Lady Yule 50/1
26 AETOLIA G Barber Cramsic Lt-Col R Crwaford 50/1
This race took place on Tuesday 17th June 1930 and was won by a grey filly by Tetratema out of Zareba to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020). Over round 153%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929