Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1929 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 QURRAT-AL-AIN M Beary R Dawson HH Aga Khan 8/11 fav
2 SCOTFORD C Ray De Mestre Mr E G De Mestre 10/1
3 LADY ABBESS Harry Wragg Leach snr Lady Cunliffe-Owen 8/1
4 FAIR ISLE T Weston Frank Butters Lord Derby 100/8
5 QUEEN'S ORB C Elliott J Beary Mrs E Wallace 100/6
6 BELFAST filly P Beasley Atty Persse General Sir B Hamilton 25/1
7 BELLATRACE S Wragg R W Colling Mr J Hirst 25/1
8 PRETTY SHOT R Perryman C Peck Mr J B Joel 25/1
9 MORE HASTE J Leach P Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 25/1
10 MAID MARGARET F Fox F Darling Lord Woolavington 9/1
11 GRACE DALRYMPLE W Sherry F Darling Lord Dewar 25/1
12 PEACE PACT G Richards C Chapman Mr G Gilbey 100/6
13 BLUE MERMAID F Winter Wal Griggs Mr Horlock 100/8
14 BRIDGET FORD H Beasley Higgs Sir B Sheffield 25/1
15 SAMARIA J Childs Boyd-Rochfort Sir H De Trafford 25/1
16 ALBIN S Donoghue Fergusson Lord Wavertree 25/1
17 TETRA BORU H Jelliss Elsey Mr H F Clayton 25/1
This race took place on Tuesday 18th June 1929 and was won by a bay filly by Buchan out of Harpsichord, to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020). Over round 151%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929