Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1927 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 STADACONA H Beasley Atty Persse Major D McCalmont 5/1
2 SCUTTLE J Childs W Jarvis HM The King 10/1
3 GOLDEN ARABY Gordon Richards Hogg Mr J Brown 2/1 fav
4 GUINEVERE F Winter Farquharson Sir D Broughton 100/8
5 BUNCH GRASS T Weston Frank Butters Mrs Arthur James 20/1
6 CANVEY filly J Marshall Sam Darling M Vagliano 100/7
7 LA GRANDE M Beary Farquharson Sir D Broughton 20/1
8 JURISDICTION S Donoghue Fred Darling Lord Dewar 10/1
9 LOVE DREAM B Carslake Charles Peck Mr Jim Joel 100/12
10 GRAND VIXEN J Thwaites Archer Lord Glanely 5/1
11 LA SOLOGNE J Brennan Alec Taylor M M Calmann 33/1
12 TETRILL J Evans Reg Day Mr R D Cohen 33/1
13 BAGATELLE H Jelliss Alec Taylor Lady Jane Douglas 20/1
14 PAPA SOUND filly Harry Wragg Walter Nightingall Mr A C Howeson 33/1
15 FOX BERRY C Elliott Reg Day Sir Abe Bailey 20/1
16 LADY POM J Leach Dundas Mrs C Beatty 33/1
17 FILLE D'ESPOIR C Smirke R Dawson HH Aga Khan 20/1
18 HILLSPRITE J Kirby Pratt Mr J A De Rothschild 20/1
This race took place on Tuesday 14th June 1927 and was won by a grey filly by The Tetrarch out of False Piety, to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020). Over round 152%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927