Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1926 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 BOOK LAW R Jones Taylor Lord Astor 7/2 fav
2 POTENTILLA filly M Beary Platt Sir W Cooke 10/1
3 MARDOMAN C Smirke R Dawson HH Aga Khan 10/1
4 LIONESS Joe Childs F Darling Lord Lonsdale 11/2
5 CRESTA RUN F Fox Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 6/1
6 PRISCILLA E C Elliott Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery 100/14
7 ADMIRE J Caldwell Pratt Mr J De Rothschild 8/1
8 SUNNY MAID Gordon Richards Hogg Miss Hogg 10/1
9 ARETE C Roberts Wal Griggs Mr Horlock 10/1
10 FRIARY COURT Henri Jelliss Basil Jarvis Lord Allendale 10/1
11 LADY LACHINE filly H Beasley Atty Persse Lord Barnby 20/1
12 RUSTLE R James Dundas Mrs C Beatty 20/1
13 NIPISIQUIT D Bonham C Leader Lord Beaverbrook 20/1
14 FARNDALE A Orme Basil Jarvis Mr Brocklehurst 20/1
15 SOVEREIGN REMEDY J Kirby Farquharson Sir D Broughton 20/1
16 DISCOVERY J Leach H Leader Mr Campbell 20/1
17 IN TUNE Steve Donoghue Cottrill Mr Cottrill 20/1
18 ISRAFIL C Elliott Watts Mr Frank Curzon 20/1
19 HEATHERBROOM A Balding Elsey Captain Elsey 20/1
20 LORNA DOON J Thwaites F Archer Lord Glanely 20/1
21 KATISHA F Lane Moreton Mr F Gretton 20/1
22 SPIONETTE A Burns M Hartigan Mr M Hartigan 20/1
23 ORTEMA Fred Winter Cundell Mr Lawrence 20/1
24 GOLDEN ODE H Leach Pickering Lord Londonderry 20/1
25 RIMA Dempsey G Sadler Mr Walter Raphael 20/1
26 DUVERNELLA Harry Wragg Wal Griggs Mr Ratliffe 20/1
27 GLAUCOPIS R Perryman Watson Mr A De Rothschild 20/1
28 GRANTA filly G Archibald Gilpin Baron De Rothschild 20/1
29 GOLDEN WILLOW J Marshall W Waugh Mr Sutton 20/1
This race took place on Tuesday 15th June 1926 and was won by a bay filly by Buchan out of Popingaol, to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020). Over round 210%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926