Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1924 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 MARGERITTA G Archibald Fred Darling Lord Woolavington 2/1 fav
2 BLUE FAIRY Henrie Jelliss Wal Griggs Mr T H Ratliffe 100/8
3 ALGA filly Gordon Richards Hogg Mr J Baird 20/1
4 BONNE BOUCHE B Carslake Atty Persse Mr J P Arkwright 33/1
5 MISS GADABOUT F Bullock Alec Taylor Lord Astor 100/8
6 PURPLE ROYAL V Smyth Easterbee Mrs J Bancroft 33/1
7 VERA R Perryman Joe Cannon Mr T Barclay 33/1
8 GALLOPER QUEEN F Fox Hammond Sir H Bird 20/1
9 FRAXINELLA W McLachlan snr Dundas Lady Fitzwilliam 20/1
10 GARDEN OF ALLAH J Leach P P Gilpin Mr P P Gilpin 33/1
11 MOSSDALE filly Steve Donoghue Morton Mr Jim Joel 33/1
12 FIROUZE MAHAL G Hulme R Dawson HH Aga Khan 5/2
13 COURT MOURNING Charlie Smirke Boyd-Rochfort Lady Nunburnholme 33/1
14 SANTA SAVINA Joe Childs Watson Mr Anthony De Rothschild 8/1
15 MUFFIN W Speck Pratt Mr J De Rothschild 33/1
16 HERSELF filly Michael Beary Reg Day Sir J Rutherford 20/1
17 SCEPTICAL J Brennan Alec Taylor Mr R F Watson 33/1
18 SABINE R Jones Cottrill Mrs S Whitburn 33/1
19 CHINA WARE filly C Elliott Jack Jarvis Mr J Fox 100/8
This race took place on Tuesday 17th June 1924 and was won by a chestnut filly by Charles O'Malley out of Coney, to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020). Over round 143%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923 1924