Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Queen Mary Stakes 1923 Group 2 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 MUMTAZ MAHAL G Hulme R Dawson HH Aga Khan 1/4 fav
2 MORALS OF MARCUS F Bullock W Jarvis Mr R L Glasspool 100/7
3 WHITE BREAD Joe Childs Cottrill Lady Wavertree 100/7
4 ROSSMORE W Lister Reg Day Sir Abe Bailey 100/7
5 ROYAL ROMANCE Vic Smyth Hogg Mrs Fred Hardy 25/1
6 RHYTHM Harry Wragg W Colling Sir R Jardine 25/1
7 LADY OF LYONS W McLachlan De Mestre Mr Solly Joel 25/1
8 LUCKS WAY G Archibald P P Gilpin Major Giles Loder 25/1
9 RAIN CLOUD II Haynes France Mr A K Macomber 25/1
10 TILPHOSSO B Carslake Atty Persse Sir H Meux 25/1
11 GREAT ADVENTURE E Gardner P P Gilpin Lord Queenborough 25/1
12 POMSAN Fred Winter F Hartigan Mr V T Thompson 25/1
13 MINK R Jones Cottrill Mrs S Whitburn 25/1
14 SUNDIA Henri Jelliss Dundas Lord Zetland 25/1
15 NO QUARTER Hebert Jones P P Gilpin Lord Woolavington 25/1
This race took place on Tuesday 19th June 1923 and was won by a grey filly by The Tetrarch out of Lady Josephine, to win a first prize of £1790 (equivalent to £88,000 in 2020) Over round 145%
Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs 1921
  1921 1922 1923