Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2021 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 CALLING THE WIND Pat Dobbs Richard Hughes 5-8st 13lbs Mrs J A Wakefield 8/1
2 WITHHOLD Oisin Murphy Roger Charlton Tony Bloom 16/1
3 ELYSIAN FLAME Danny Tudhope Michael & David Easterby J Blackburn, Imperial Racing 13/2 co fav
4 GREEN BOOK Andrea Atzeni Venitia Williams Lady Price, Shaw, Boylan, Tagg 17/2
5 PLATFORM NINETEEN Clifford Lee Michael Bell Royal Ascot Racing Club 13/2 co fav
6 MARGARET DUMONT Jim Crowley Hugo Palmer Lady Manton & Partner 50/1
7 WHO DARES WINS Hollie Doyle Alan King HP Racing 22/1
8 THEMAXWECAN James Doyle Mark Johnston Douglas Livingston 66/1
9 SEINESATIONAL Jamie Spencer Dr Richard Newland Chris Stedman 66/1
10 THE GRAND VISIR William Buick Ian Williams Andy Bell & Fergus Lyons 13/2 co fav
11 SMART CHAMPION Saffie Osborne David Simcock John Cook & Partner 8/1
12 RAJINSKY P J McDonald Tom Dascombe R S Matharu 16/1
13 CLEONTE Silvestre De Sousa Andrew Balding King Power Racing 40/1
14 EVERYTHING FOR YOU Jason Watson Ian Williams D A Thorpe 100/1
15 COEUR DE LION Thore Hammer Hansen Alan King The Barbury Boys 25/1
16 THAI TERRIER Ben Curtis Mark Johnston C R Hirst 50/1
17 BURIRAM Rob Hornby Ralph Beckett King Power Racing 28/1
18 KLOUD GATE David Probert Gary Moore Hail Sargent Evans 80/1
PU ROCHESTER HOUSE Joe Fanning Mark Johnston John Brown & Megan Dennis 22/1
RR JUST HUBERT Ray Dawson William Muir & Chris Grassick Foursome Thoroughbreds 15/2
This race took place on Friday 30th July 2021 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £25,770 Over round 124%