Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2019 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 TIMOSHENKO Luke Morris Sir Mark Prescott 4-8st 0lbs Middleham Park Racing 9/1
2 SEINESATIONAL Kieran O'Neill William Knight One Day Rodney Partnership 22/1
3 TRUE DESTINY David Egan Roger Charlton Sultan Ahmad Sha 11/2
4 THE CASHEL MAN P J McDonald Nicky Henderson Mrs Fitri Hay 16/1
5 PARTY PLAYBOY Hayley Turner Anthony Mullins Mrs P Crompton, D Doyle, P Keyoe 12/1
6 LIL ROCKERFELLER Silvestre De Sousa Neil King Davies, Smith, Govier, Brown 4/1 fav
7 MANCINI Jamie Spencer Jonathan Portman Laurence Bellman 14/1
8 BAILARICO Jimmy Quinn Warren Greatrex Fitorfat Racing 33/1
9 POLISH Paddy Mathers John Gallagher Lady Rothschild 25/1
10 PADDYS MOTORBIKE Liam Keniry Nigel Twiston Davies Walters Plant Hire 16/1
11 DUBAWI FIFTY Danny Tudhope Karen McLintock Paul & Clare Rooney 5/1
12 FUN MAC Andrea Atzeni Hughie Morrison Mrs Angel McAlpine & Partners 17/2
13 ZUBAYR Martin Dwyer Ian Williams P J Vogt 16/1
14 MISS LATIN Sean Davis David Simcock Mrs Fitri Hay 66/1
15 DOUNYAPOUR David Probert Dr Richard Newland G Carstairs & R Marker 33/1
16 CRISTAL SPIRIT Raul De Silva George Baker PJL Racing, Turf Club 2019 50/1
17 EARLY SUMMER Hollie Doyle Hughie Morrison Wardley Bloodstock 16/1
18 GUNS OF LEROS Josephine Gordon Gary Moore Paul Hunt 50/1
19 AGE OF WISDOM Andrew Breslin Gary Moore 1901 Partnership 50/1
This race took place on Wednesday 31st July 2019 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £31,125 (equivalent to £32,200 in 2021) Over round 132%