Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2016 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 STAR RIDER Jimmy Fortune Hughie Morrison 4-8st 13lbs Ben & Sir Martyn Arbib 11/1
2 PERCY VEER Edward Greatrex Sylvester Kirk Mr & Mrs M Crow 14/1
3 OCEANE Fergus Sweeney Alan King McNeill Family 11/1
4 POYLE THOMAS Richard Kingscote Ralph Beckett Cecil & Miss Alison Wiggins 10/1
5 PLANETOID Joe Fanning Jim Best Planetoid Partnership 66/1
6 BE MY SEA Jimmy Quinn Tony Carroll Mr Gary Attwood 33/1
7 WIND PLACE & SHO Ryan Tate James Eustace Harold Nass 11/1
8 MOSCATO Luke Morris Sir Mark Prescott Green Door Partnership 13/2
9 REVISION Kieren Fox John Best Curtis, Malt & Williams 25/1
10 TEAK Adam Kirby Ian Williams The Macable Partnership 20/1
11 WORDINESS Hector Crouch David Evans W A Harrison-Allan 25/1
12 PERFECT SUMMER Franny Norton Ian Williams The Ferandlin Partnership 40/1
13 ETON RAMBLER Steve Drowne George Baker The Eton Ramblers 50/1
14 THE CASHEL MAN Jamie Spencer David Simcock Mrs Fitri Hay 11/2 fav
15 COMMUNICATOR David Probert Andrew Balding Lady Davis 16/1
16 ALBAHAR Dane O'Neil Chris Gordon Mrs Kate Digweed 20/1
17 IFTIRAAQ Andrea Atzeni Seamus Durak The Acorn Partnership 16/1
18 DIAMOND JOEL Silvestre De Sousa Mick Channon

Mrs Norma Harris 12/1

PU SEASIDE SIZZLER Jim Crowley William Knight I J Heseltine 28/1
PU NO HERETIC James McDonald Nicky Henderson Mrs Fitri Hay 16/1
This race took place on Wednesday 27th July 2016 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £31,125 (equivalent to £34,500 in 2021) Over round 125%