Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2015 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 SANDS OF FORTUNE Willie Twiston Davies Nigel Twiston Davies 6-8st 8lbs E E Williams 16/1
2 TAWS Andrea Atzeni Rod Millman R K Arrowsmith 14/1
3 WILLIAM OF ORANGE Luke Morris Sir Mark Prescott Nicholas Jones 5/1 fav
4 ARTY CAMPBELL Martin Lane Bernard Llewellyn Alex James 16/1
5 TEAK James Doyle Ian Williams Macable Partnership 10/1
6 AIR SQUADRON Richard Kingscote Ralph Beckett Lady Cobham 8/1
7 WORDINESS Tom Marquand David Evans W A Harrison-Allan 10/1
8 GABRIALS STAR Tony Hamilton Richard Fahey Dr Marwan Koukash 20/1
9 NUMBER ONE LONDON David Probert Tim Vaughan D J Wallis 16/1
10 BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY John Egan Joseph Tuite B Barr 33/1
11 GAVIAR Jim Crowley William Knight Chasemore Farm 8/1
12 NEEDLESS SHOUTING Franny Norton Mick Channon Lord Ilsley Racing 20/1
13 BOITE Sam Hitchcott Warren Greatrex Mrs T Brown 16/1
14 RIDGEWAY STORM Tom Queally Alan King W H Ponsonby 14/1
15 ARAMIST Ben Curtis Alan Swinbank Alan Swinbank 16/1
16 MAWAQEET Andrew Mullen Michael Appleby Frank Mcaleavy 33/1
17 ROSAIRLIE P J McDonald Micky Hammond Late Night Drinkers, Wishful Thinkers 16/1
18 SEE & BE SEEN Gary Mahon Sylvester Kirk Timothy Peasron 12/1
19 PILGRIMS REST Pat Cosgrave George Baker Pittam, Mather, Baker 50/1
This race took place on Wednesday 29th July 2015 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £31,125 (equivalent to £34,700 in 2021) Over round 131%