Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2009 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 SWEETHEART Liam Jones Jamie Poulton 5-8st 1lbs R W Huggins 8/1
2 TYRRELLS WOOD Tom Queally T G Mills Dr Marwan Koukash 15/2
3 SWINGKEEL Jimmy Fortune John Dunlop Mrs M E Slade 11/2 fav
4 WOODFALL TREASURE Ryan Moore Gary Moore Findlay & Bloom 8/1
5 ALNWICK Alan Munro Peter Cundell Entre Nous & P D Cundell 20/1
6 ABSOLUT POWER Martin Dwyer Jonathan Geake Kimpton Down Racing Club 33/1
7 ALWAYS BOLD Paul Hanagan Donald McCabe T G Leslie 14/1
8 RELATIVE STRENGTH William Buick Andrew Balding D H Caslon 20/1
9 SHORE THING David Probert Charles Egerton Vineste 40/1
10 KASBAN Royston Ffrench Ian Williams Michael H Watt 28/1
11 MARKINGTON William Carson Peter Bowen Ron Stepney 10/1
12 LAST FLIGHT Luke Morris Peter Bowen Mrs Karen Bowen 9/1
13 SWORDSMAN Cathy Gannon Chris Gordon Mrs Kate Digweed 25/1
14 SOM TALA Frankie Dettori Mick Channon Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 14/1
15 SUFAD Hayley Turner Tim McCarthy Mark Hoaren 100/1
16 VALDAN Andrew Hefferman David Evans D Maloney 40/1
17 AAIM TO PROSPER Darryll Holland Mick Channon CGA Racing Partnership 20/1
18 CASUAL GARCIA Chris Catlin Sir Mark Prescott Me'er Do Wells 25/1
19 BADDAM Richard Hughes Ian Williams N Martin 14/1
This race took place on Wednesday 29th July 2009 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £31,155 (equivalent to £40,100 in 2021) Over round 123%