Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2008 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 BADDAM Johnny Murtagh Ian Williams 6-9st 4lbs N Martin 12/1
2 INCHPAST Jimmy Quinn Mark Tompkins Marcoe Racing Welwyn 25/1
3 MITH HILL Chris Catlin Ian Williams P J Vogt 25/1
4 TOMINA David Probert Emma Lavelle Paul G Jacobs 17/2
5 KEELUNG Micky Fenton Richard Ford D W Watson 18/1
6 DAYLAMI DREAMS John Egan Tom Tate Mrs Fitri Hay 15/2
7 LADY DEDLOCK Franny Norton Jamie Poulton Oceana Racing 10/1
8 DIRECTA'S DIGGER Jack Dean Michael Scudamore I J Anderson 16/1
9 DOWNING STREET Tadhg O'Shea Jennie Candlish Reuben Fielding 16/1
10 LA VECCHIA SCUOLA Danny Tudhope Jim Goldie John Connor, Graham Brown 13/2
11 ABSTRACT FOLLY Cathy Gannon James Bethell Clarendon Thoroughbred Racing 50/1
12 KASBAN Frankie McDonald Jane Chapple-Hyam Michael H Watt 28/1
13 SILVER SEEKER William Buick Pauline Robson Michael H Watt 14/1
14 JOHN TERRY Jim Crowley Amanda Perrett A D Spence 25/1
15 SOM TALA Frankie Dettori Mick Channon Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 9/2 fav
16 CAVENDISH Luke Morris James Eustace The Cavendish Partnership 20/1
17 ROSE BIEN Dominic Fox Philip McBride PM Racing 50/1
18 MUDAWAIN Ryan Moore Jim Goldie John Macgregor 8/1
This race took place on Wednesday 30th July 2008 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £31,155 (equivalent to £41,000 in 2021) Over round 130%