Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2006 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 KEY TIME Seb Sanders Sir Mark Prescott 4-9st 1lbs G Moore Osborne House 5/1 jt fav
2 THEATRE John Egan Jamie Poulton Chris Steward 16/1
3 MASTER COBBLER Tom Queally John Akehurst A D Spence 12/1
4 MCELDOWNEY Greg Fairley Mark Johnston C G Maybury 14/1
5 SIR MONTY Ryan Moore Amanda Perrett Lingfield Breakfast Club 14/1
6 DOROTHYS FRIEND Steve Drowne Roger Charlton Mountgrange Stud 5/1 jt fav
7 KRISTENSEN Frankie McDonald Karen McLintock Equiname Ltd 33/1
8 SKI JUMP Paul Hanagan Richard Fahey P D Smith Holdings 16/1
9 OUR MONOGRAM Nelson De Souza Ralph Beckett Foxon Fillies Partnership 10/1
10 ALMAH Alan Munro Venetia Williams P A Deal, Tweenhills Racing 20/1
11 MERSEY SOUND Marc Halford David Elsworth A Heaney 7/1
12 TEN CARAT Kevin Darley Martin Todhunter Ian Hall Racing 16/1
13 SALUTE Robert Havlin Pat Murphy Golden Anorak Partnership 50/1
14 DISTANT PROSPECT Martin Dwyer Andrew Balding Rae Smith & Pauline Gale 16/1
15 FORTUNE ISLAND Jimmy Fortune David Pipe J Brown & M Blackburn 33/1
16 EASTBOROUGH Eddie Ahern Brendan Powell Christopher Shankland 66/1
17 ODDSMAKER Philip Robinson Maurice Barnes Maurice Barnes 16/1
18 PARADISE FLIGHT Cathy Gannon Kevin Ryan John Brown & William Cahill 33/1
19 DARASIM Joe Fanning Mark Johnston Markus Graff 25/1
20 OCEAN OF STORMS Mark Coumbe N I M Rossiter Boot Inn Partnership 66/1
This race took place on Wednesday 2nd August 2006 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £31,160 (equivalent to £43,500 in 2021) Over round 128%