Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 2004 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 ALRIDA Paul Hanagan Richard Fahey 5-7st 12lbs Mark Russell & Friends 11/2
2 STANCE Ryan Moore Gary Moore N J Jones 14/1
3 DISTANT PROSPECT Martin Dwyer Andrew Balding Rae Smith & Pauline Gale 25/1
4 ALMIZAN Ted Durcan Mick Channon Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 33/1
5 MANA D'ARGENT Joe Fanning Mark Johnston Daniel A Cooper 12/1
6 BOBSLEIGH Philip Robinson Amanda Perrett A & Mrs F Ogilvy 16/1
7 KRISTENSEN Darryll Holland D Eddy Equiname Ltd 18/1
8 VALANCE Johnny Murtagh Charles Egerton J R Weatherby 20/1
9 QUEDEX Frankie McDonald Richard Price Fox & Cub Partnership 14/1
10 TIYOUN Jamie Spencer Jedd O'Keefe Miss S Long 33/1
11 TERESA Mick Kinane John Dunlop Sir Eric Parker 20/1
12 REDSPIN Chris Catlin J S Moore Mrs Fitri Hay 25/1
13 TEN CARAT Frankie Dettori Amanda Perrett Prince Khaled Abdullah 9/2 fav
14 GALLEON BEACH Nicky Mackay Barry Leavy Centaur Racing Ltd 66/1
15 ALBANOV Keith Dalgleish Mark Johnston Ronnie Scot 4 Syndicate 16/1
16 RIYADH Royston Ffrench Mark Johnston A S Helaiassi 8/1
17 ONE FOR ME Lisa Jones Jean-Rene Auvray M J Lewin 100/1
18 PROMOTER Eddie Ahern Jeremy Noseda Thurloe Thoroughbreds 13/2
19 DANCE LIGHT Jimmy Quinn Terry Clement Mrs J Garland 66/1
This race took place on Wednesday 28th July 2004 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £23,200 (equivalent to £33,800 in 2021) Over round 124%