Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Handicap 1991 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 HAITHAM Pat Eddery Reg Akehurst 4-9st 5lbs Norman Barnes 5/1
2 RETOUCH Alan Munro Paul Cole Simon Wingfield Digby 9/2
3 GOOD HAND Dean McKeown J W Watts Mrs Maureen Haggas 8/1
4 CAETANI Willie Carson Michael Easterby G E Shouler 4/1
5 ART FORM Tom McLaughlin Charles Cyzer R M Cyzer 10/1
6 BESITO Gary Bardwell Rod Simpson Trevor Painting 14/1
7 CIRCUIT RING Dale Gibson P Colver Lahama Ltd 10/1
8 COLERIDGE Franny Norton Mick Channon P J Sheehan 20/1
9 BOGAZKOY Brett Doyle C Holmes Clive Holmes 400/1
10 REGAL REFORM Frankie Dettori George Moore Richard Wheeler 10/1
This race took place on Wednesday 31st July 1991 over 2 miles 4 furlongs. It was valued at £10,625 (equivalent to £19,700 in 2021) Over round 105%