Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Stakes 1937 Handicap 2 miles 3 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 EPIGRAM P Maher Noel Cannon 4-7st 8lbs Mr James V Rank 5/1 fav
2 SIGNATURE Doug Smith Boyd-Rochfort Mr Marshall Field 7/1
3 SIR CALIDORE W Nevett Carr Mr A Redman 9/1
4 SOLAR BEAR R A Jones G Bennett Mr E Robson 25/1
5 JACK TAR B Carslake Cottrill Lady Nuttall 100/6
6 GUISCARD Dick Perryman C Leader Lord Derby 25/1
7 HORS BORD S Donoghue W Stubbs Mr G S L Whitelaw 100/7
8 RONDO G Bezant F Pratt Mr James A de Rothschild 100/8
9 PUNCH Eph Smith Tabor Mr T Westhead 25/1
10 SEVERINO T Weston Lawson Sir Abe Bailey 100/7
11 NEGRIER H Packham H Smyth Mr Alfred Sainsbury 100/8
12 MISS WINDSOR J Crouch M Marsh Maharajah of Rajpipla 100/8
13 AFRICAN LILY Bill Rickaby T E Leader Mr D L Wilson 7/1
14 THOTH Cliff Richards Master of Grey Mrs Chester Beatty 20/1
15 RODOMONT Gordon Richards Dawson Waugh Mr Dawson Waugh 100/8
16 FOX STAR K Robertson J Waugh Mrs Corlette Glorney 25/1
17 SATANIC Humphrey Foster Basil Jarvis Major J S Courtauld 25/1
18 MISCHNA F Sharpe Atty Persse Mr H S Persse 100/6
19 ALOR STAR W Wing Peter Thrale Mr W H Gull 25/1
This race took place on Wednesday 28th July 1937 and was a subscription race of 10 sovereigns each. It was valued at £1000 (equivalent to £130,000 in 2021) Over round 137%