Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Stakes 1933 Handicap 2 miles 3 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 PRINCE OXENDON J Caldwell Vic Smyth 5-7st 13lbs Mr C Jackson 100/6
2 LOOSESTRIFE Gordon Richards Rickards Mr P Johnson 100/9
3 GUISCARD T Weston George Lambton Lord Derby 100/8
4 ROI DE PARIS G Nicoll D-Pennant Mr J Cooper 100/9
5 LEONARD W Bullock Elsey Mr H F Clayton 100/9
6 HYPOSTYLE A Richardson H Fergusson Mrs Chester Beatty 25/1
7 CLARAN F Lane Gooch Mr C Sutton 100/30 fav
8 JOYOUS GREETING J Dines Sneyd Sir Henry Lyons 33/1
9 STERLING MAIDEN Ken Gethin George Todd Mr H Lester 8/1
10 BESTOBELL F Fox Walter Nightingall Mr T W Blenkiron 20/1
11 LORD NUGENT J Sirett Barrett Marquis de San Miguel 33/1
12 SEA DEVIL K Robertson James Mr H P Brandt 20/1
13 PRIDDY HILL Cliff Richards George Todd Mr George Todd 33/1
14 IOWNAPUTTER T Barber C Leader Mr P Halden 20/1
15 XIMENES Stan Smith F Templeman Sir Frederick Eley 33/1
16 SANQUINOLE Eph Smith Watts Mrs L R Dunne 13/2
17 APPLE PEEL Doug Smith Farquharson Sir Delves Broughton 33/1
18 ST CYPRIAN A Taylor Easterbee Mr E S Freeland 33/1
19 MR BERTRAM F Hunter Harvey Leader Mr R D Shafto 33/1
This race took place on Wednesday 26th July 1933 and was a subscription race of 10 sovereigns each. It was valued at £1000 (equivalent to £130,000 in 2021) Over round 130%