Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Stakes 1930 Handicap 2 miles 3 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 JOYOUS GREETING J Dines Sneyd 6-7st 2lbs Mrs Gorlette Glorney 100/7
2 MEDARLIN F Sharpe Scobie Sir Charles Hyde 6/1
3 WEST WICKLOW T Weston Frank Butters Lord Derby 3/1 fav
4 ARCTIC STAR Dick Perryman Walter Nightingall Lady Curzon of Kedleston 9/1
5 GOUSPIN A Rabbe France M Rene Lecomte 20/1
6 FILS DU CIEL J Teasdale France M Rene Lecomte 33/1
7 COASTER F Fox Templeman Mr H Liddell 20/1
8 PAUL CARET Gordon Richards Lawson Mr Washington Singer 100/7
9 EAGLES PRIDE K Robertson Walter Nightingall Mr F T Halse 33/1
10 ARCTIC LIGHT S Donoghue Tabor Sir Mathew Wilson 11/2
11 MONASTIC HASTE Cliff Richards Ossie Bell Sir Hugo Cunliffe-Owen 20/1
12 GAY AMOUR M Beary R C Dawson Mr R C Dawson 9/1
13 LIBERTINE II W Stephenson Peter Gilpin M E de St Alary 100/7
14 THE NICHE T Lowrey Jack Jarvis Sir Laurence Phillipps 33/1
15 NUMERO UN M Beguiristain France Senor G L de Mola 33/1
16 XENOPHOBE A Burns Blair Mr M Stephens 33/1
17 CLYDESDALE A Richardson W Payne Mr H Collins 100/7
18 SYNOT L Martin H Waldron Mrs M A Gemmell 33/1
This race took place on Wednesday 30th July 1930 and was a subscription race of 10 sovereigns each. It was valued at £1000 (equivalent to £130,000 in 2021) Over round 135%