Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Stakes 1928 Handicap 2 miles 3 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 ARCTIC STAR Charlie Smirke Tabor 4-8st 5lbs Sir M Wilson 13/2
2 STEEL POINT J Dines Martin Mr Smith Turberville 100/8
3 GOODWIN S Wragg Watson Mr A de Rothschild 33/1
4 DAKOTA J Marshall Wootton Mr S Wootton 100/6
5 CONCILLIATOR S Donoghue G L Ward HH Maharaja of Rajpipla 33/1
6 OLD ORKNEY F Fox Gooch Mr J J Murphy 6/1
7 EAGLES PRIDE R Jones Martin Mr F T Halse 33/1
8 MAID OF PERTH B Carslake Fred Darling Mrs G H Drummond 9/2 fav
9 ROYAL POM M Beary Farquharson Sir Delves Broughton 100/8
10 SPECTROSCOPE E Gardner F Hartigan Major A Bonsor 33/1
11 YOUNG MIDDLETON F Lane Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Lord Hillingdon 9/1
12 BALLYSCANLON W Turtle Edwards Mr H Martin 33/1
13 LABADENS Gordon Richards G L Ward HH Maharaja of Rajpipla 100/8
14 SOMNUS W Alford Gore Mr T B Ellis 33/1
15 LEGISLATOR T Weston Reg Day Sir Abe Bailey 33/1
16 KING HARALD K Robertson R W Colling Mr D Raphael 10/1
17 HIGHBURY G Haines Basil Jarvis Lord Allendale 33/1
18 DRACOS H Packham Dennis Mr S H Dennis 33/1
19 JOYOUS GREETING A Burns Templeman Mr F Wright 33/1
This race took place on Wednesday 1st August 1928 and was a subscription race of 10 sovereigns each. It was valued at £1000 (equivalent to £130,000 in 2021) Over round 125%