Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes (Handicap) is the second oldest race still staged at the Glorious Goodwood Festival having first been run in 1823 in its current format. However, some might claim that it is the oldest race, since a Goodwood Stakes over 2 miles was staged at the 1811 meeting, a year before the inaugural running of the present day Goodwood Cup, while others would assert that a Goodwood Silver Cup was first held in 1808. It is a handicap for 3-year-olds and above over 2miles 5 furlongs, although it has fluctuated between 2 miles 5 furlongs and 2 miles throughout its history, and is currently contested over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 134 yards, making it a wonderful spectacle for the crowd, as it starts in front of the stands and is the longest presently run at the Festival.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Goodwood Stakes was on Tuesday 12th August 1823 when the Duke of Richmond's Dandizette defeated Lord Egremont's Young Gohanna colt, although on the same card the Old Goodwood Club Stakes saw Lord Egremont’s Elfrid beat Mr C Day's Victorine.

Goodwood Stakes 1860 Handicap 2 miles 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 WALLACE Challoner 3-7st 4lbs Mr Gibbs 10/1
2 SATELLITE George Fordham 4-7st 10lbs Mr R Ten Broeck 5/2 fav
3 FEODOROWNA Auckland 3-5st 9lbs Mr R M Jaques 40/1
4 FLITCH Mitchell 4-6st 2lbs Mr T Hughes 15/1
5 BLUE JACKET John Osborne 6-8st 10lbs Mr Rigby 100/1
6 GASPARD A Day 4-8st 8lbs Mr T Parr 50/1
7 MAGNUM Charlton 4-8st 0lbs Baron Rothschild 25/1
8 ROYAL SOVEREIGN L Snowden 5-7st 5lbs Mr Rigby 25/1
9 AVALANCHE Bullock 3-7st 3lb Mr T Parr 20/1
10 CLAIRE W Edwards 4-7st 2lbs Mr Bevill 15/1
11 CHEESECAKE Grimshaw 3-6st 4lbs Captain Christie 25/1
12 PITMAN T French 3-6st 2lbs Captain Little 100/1
13 EDMUND KEAN Entwistle 3-6st 0lbs Mr F Tullett 33/1
14 GRIDIRON J Adams 3-6st 0lbs Mr E Baker 20/1
15 TOCHER J Daley 5-5st 10lbs Colonel Forester 3/1
16 PHILOMELA Parsons 3-5st 5lbs Mr Newland 100/1
17 NEOPTOLEMUS Roper 3-5st 4lbs Count Batthyany 33/1
This race took place on Wednesday 25th July 1860 and was a subscription race of 25 sovereigns each. There were 96 subscribers and it was valued at 300 guineas (equivalent to £36,000 in 2021) Over round 109%